CSA

CSA 2016: Week 11

Cure Organic Farm – Week 11

Kale, Green Beans, Head Lettuce, Potatoes, Baby Zucchini, Garlic, Tomatoes, Sweet Corn.

63rd Street Farm – Week 11

Daikon, Tomatoes, Cucumber, Garlic, Sage, Eggplant, Sweet Pepper, JalapeΓ±o, Chard

What I’ve Eaten

  • Vegetable Tian (summer squash, eggplant, tomato, basil and fresh mozzarella)
  • Beet Smoothie based on this recipe.
  • Sauerkraut, made by yours truly!
  • Tomatoes with fresh mozzarella and basil – multiple times.
  • Omelet with baby leeks and squash.
  • Sweet Corn Frittata with Tomato Compote based on this recipe.
  • Garlicky Chard and Potatoes.
  • Salads with head lettuce, carrots, cucumber and corn.

 


My stitches are gone because I poked at them with my tongue until they fell out and I am allowed to eat normal food again! I wish this abundance of corn didn’t coincide with my wisdom tooth surgery, these holes that have not fully healed make the perfect little pockets for corn to get trapped in. Luckily my dentist has provided me with a syringe that I can use to flush out the cavities. This whole process took a lot more out of me than I anticipated but I’m finally starting to feel like myself again.

Starting around Thursday evening I was finally able to eat a more balanced diet again. I think the change in diet after the surgery, and lack of appetite, contributed to my lethargy and general feeling of being just a bit “off” – I was anything but productive at work for most of the last week. But it’s a new week and my fridge is far too full so I will be working my way through those veggies as quickly as I can!

I spent a good portion of my weekend dealing with food related things. I ended up doing an inventory of everything that’s in my fridge and, unfortunately, realized there were some green beans that I neglected for far too long that wound up in the compost. I have more green beans that are still good to go but I need to use or freeze them ASAP – I’m rather sick of green beans but I also haven’t been creative with them at all. I also cooked a bunch and made a decent dent in my accumulated produce, although I’m drowning in greens.Β  One of the things I made, the ‘Tomato Compote’ to top my Sweet Corn Frittata might just be my favorite thing I’ve made all season. In fact, I ate all of the tomatoes in one sitting and have already whipped up another batch.

I had no idea what a compote was so I looked it up. According to the internet a compote consists of whole or pieces of fruit cooked in sugar – that’s not what I made. So… it might not really be a compote. The name doesn’t really matter, you just need to know that that shit is delicious and I highly recommend it on anything and everything.

Now for some pictures of pretty things, taken by Brian.

USE - EggplantUSE - SunflowerUSE - Bentley2

GAH! Look at that face. He makes my heart melt ❀

-Lyndsy

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

1 thought on “CSA 2016: Week 11”

Share your thoughts

