CSA, Recipes

Curried Summer Squash Soup

As I mentioned last week, my fridge was slowly filling up with squash that I needed to use up and I had just had my wisdom teeth out so I needed to make sure whatever dish I came up with was soft.

I made a soup. I’m a huge fan of soups of all types – there’s something so comforting about the perfect combination of flavors all in one bowl. Normally I’m hesitant to make a soup in the hotter months, unless it’s a gazpacho. But when you’ve just had your mouth ripped open and sewn back together, you probably want to eat something soothing that you don’t have to chew.

Now that I’m thinking about it, I’ve made a delicious Zucchini Basil Soup in the past. Clearly I need to step up my summer soup game because squash is great as a soup. And it’s great hot OR cold.

After likely hours of searching for the perfect post-surgery, comforting summery soup I decided to make a Curried Summer Squash Soup. Curry wasn’t a staple in our kitchen growing up but ever since the first time I tried curry it has been a staple in mine. I’ve made various winter squash curry dishes but this was my first time combining summer squash and curry – it was delicious!

Disclaimer: I’m still bad at taking pictures while I cook. But I did take a picture of the finished product!


Curried Summer Squash Soup

USE - Curried Squash Soup

Ingredients

  • 4 small summer squash, chopped – roughly 4 cups
  • 1 medium onion, chopped
  • Optional: 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 2 tsp. curry powder
  • Kosher salt and fresh ground pepper
  • 4 cups stock/broth, can use veggie or chicken
  • Optional: 2 dried chili peppers
  • 3 Tbsp. oil of your choice
  • Yogurt and basil to serve. (I used yogurt but sour cream or coconut milk/cream would be nice as well. You can also sub cilantro for basil if that suites your fancy!)

Preparation

Heat oil over med-high heat. Add onion and garlic, sautéed until fragrant. Add summer squash, curry powder, salt and pepper and cook until tender, roughly 10 minutes. Add stock and whole chili peppers, bring to boil, reduce heat and simmer until squash is soft, 20-30 minutes. Remove whole chili peppers. Purée (using your chosen method) until smooth. Serve warm or chilled with a spoonful of yogurt, a spring of basil and fresh pepper.

Note: This soup would also be great with carrots!


When I’m planning to purée a soup I wait for the soup to cool before adding it to my blender – one day I will have an immersion blender so I can puree immediately! Do NOT try to blend a steaming hot soup in a blender. Seriously, don’t. Unless you want to spend the rest of the day cleaning soup from your ceiling.

I love this recipe because it’s super versatile. You can use all zucchini instead of a combo of squash like I used, you can easily make it vegetarian or vegan and you can always skip the chili pepper. I’ve been on a spicy kick lately and the dairy (or coconut dairy!) really balances out the heat. This was the first time I’ve used a chili pepper in this way, cooking them and removing them, and it gave it a nice subtle spicy flavor without an upfront intense heat. I think the soup would have been just as delicious had I left those in and puréed them with the rest of the ingredients, maybe I’ll try that out next time.

-Lyndsy

Save

Save

Save

Save

Share your thoughts

