CSA

CSA 2016: Week 5

Cure Organic Farm – Week 5

  • Beets
  • HUGE Head of Lettuce
  • Dandelion Greens
  • Garlic Scapes
  • Mint
  • Snap Peas

63rd Street Farm – Week 5

  • Fava Beans
  • Carrots
  • Kale
  • Garlic Scapes
  • Dill
  • Oregano

What I’ve Eaten

  • Spaghetti with English Shelling Peas, Fennel and Broccolini, with Sage and Oregano
  • Turnip Gratin with the remainder of the Provolone from the last batch. That shit is addicting.
  • Buckwheat Crust Quiche with Swiss Chard, Beet Greens, Chorizo (from Jodar), Feta, CilantroΒ  and Eggs from a coworker.
  • Salads with Beets, Feta, Carrots, Olives and homemade dressing.
  • Homemade Pizza. Not CSA related, just delicious.

 


Over the past month my grocery bill has plummeted, as planned. I haven’t purchased any produce since the beginning of the month and my trips to the grocery store have involved milk (for tea and to make yogurt), cheese (if needed/wanted), bulk tea, bulk granola, fruit, and to stock up on any bulk items I’m low on; such as oils, grains, pasta, etc.

I had fava beans for the first time last year and I’m a huge fan – they’re worth the work. I’m pretty excited to try the dandelion greens, I’m not sure if I’ll do them cooked or raw.

Β I’ve already made some great things with the week 5 veggies and I’m excited to share those with you next week πŸ™‚

 

-Lyndsy

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Share your thoughts

