CSA

CSA 2016: Week 1

Guys, I have been waiting for this for MONTHS.

This year I’m getting produce from two farms again, I rather enjoy the variety. But this time around I will be getting two-thirds of a full share; one-third from Cure Organic Farm and the other third from 63rd Street Farm, Farm A from last season.

You might be wondering, What do you mean two-thirds of a full share? How does one acquire two-thirds of a full share? Well… I’ll be splitting the shares with my lovely friends Meg and Cody. I’m still working on getting Brian to enjoy vegetables; progress is slow but not for naught! I’m sure he’ll end up enjoying some of the veggies I bring home πŸ™‚

Cure Organic Farm – Week 1

2016-06-01-20-14-10.jpg

  • Bok Choy
  • French Breakfast Radish
  • Carrots
  • Spinach & Lettuce Mix

Cure Organic Farm is a Wednesday evening pick up and 63rd Street Farm’s share gets picked up on Thursday evenings. Last year I had the share from 63rd Street delivered to work, since all my coworkers were having theirs delivered, but this year I will be venturing to the farm on Thursdays to pick up my share. The benefit to doing this is that I get to pick my own veggies and on weeks where they offer an option between two or three things (which is actually most weeks) I will get to make the choice instead of the farmers making the choice for me.

63rd Street Farm – Week 1

wp-1465226989692.jpg

  • Lettuce, Braising Greens & Spinach
  • Kale
  • Chives
  • Sage
  • Beets
  • Turnips
  • Basil & Tomato Starts

I’m not sure what to expect moving forward but the vibe at 63rd Street on pick up day was awesome! Each week they feature local businesses – last week included a winery who did free tastings (!), a dairy CSA, a local coffee roaster, a local biscotti maker, and there was a brick oven pizza cart/truck/portable oven. The following pictures of the first pick up are courtesy of my coworker Esther – she’s much better at picture-taking than I am!

JUNE-CSA (2)

JUNE-CSA (15)

JUNE-CSA (5)

JUNE-CSA (4)

JUNE-CSA (8)

JUNE-CSA (7)

JUNE-CSA (16)

It’s all self-serve but the farmers are mingling around to help answer any questions you might have. After my first pick up I’m really glad I decided to go to the farm this year instead of having my share delivered.

As is always the case this time of year, we got a ton of greens this week and likely will continue to for the next few distributions. I’m glad Meg and Cody were willing to go in on two shares with me because the variety is fabulous. And I really feel like this is a great amount of food for a third of a share.

Overall my thoughts this week consisted of “I’m so happy June is here!” It’s a bit ridiculous how excited I am that my CSAs have started. I can’t wait for all the yummy produce to come πŸ™‚

-Lyndsy

Save

Save

2 thoughts on “CSA 2016: Week 1”

Share your thoughts

