CSA

CSA 2015: The Forgotten Share

This post is coming to you roughly two months late. Oops! The holiday season combined with moving pushed my blog to the back of my mind. To be honest, I only realized at the beginning of this week (as I was prepping for my 2016 CSAs) that I forgot to share my last distribution. This year I will be getting veggies from two farms again but I will be scaling back a bit; more to come on this in a separate post.

Without further ado, BEHOLD, the missing share!

Carrots, Garlic, Butternut Squash, Onions, Cabbage, Lettuce Mix, Beets, Turnips, Potatoes
Carrots, Garlic, Butternut Squash, Onions, Cabbage, Lettuce Mix, Beets, Turnips, Potatoes

Most of this produce was eaten long ago, but not all! I still have the cabbage and a butternut squash, plus one of those onions and the last of my garlic went into some stuffed delicata squash that I made last night. Can you believe that? My CSAs are STILL feeding me; if you store things correctly they will last.

It seems to me that people, or at least those who might ponder these things, often mistake November and December as the time of year that our ancestors had to stretch their food supply (in the northern hemisphere) since this is the time of year that we start to see colder weather and a decline in food production. This is false – winter doesn’t even start until the end of December! Maybe I’m just assuming this; I’m not telepathic, I don’t know what you’re thinking. Most people likely have no concept of what life was like before grocery stores or what is in-season at any given time of year. And now that I’m thinking about it, do they even care? I doubt that the majority of Americans care enough to ponder these things, not when we have celebrities to keep us distracted. Ah, the conveniences and diversion from nature that is modernity. Realistically this time of year usually saw big feasts and plentiful menus, which makes sense when you think about it. Many westerner cultures have multiple holidays that fall during this time of year, and holidays usually mean feasting. The weeks and months leading up to spring were actually the leanest of times since winter stores were starting to run low and the first crops of spring had yet to arrive.

When I picked up my winter storage box back in October the farmers told me that it should last about two months. Seeing as it’s the end of January and I still have a kuri squash, a butternut squash (aside from the one left from the share shown above), a pumpkin, an acorn squash, and three or four delicata squash, I think that might have been a very conservative estimate. I check on the squash several times a week to see if there is anything that’s starting to go bad so I can use it before it does. This will obviously continue to feed me into February but come March/April I will no doubt be longing for June and the start of my 2016 CSAs.

Aside from the cabbage and squash I also have some fingerling potatoes, chicken thighs, and various frozen items left from last season. Frozen items include yellow tomatoes, beets, green beans, cooked fajita peppers, raw hot and sweet peppers, a jar of beet soup and several jars of garden marinara. Food storage is something I hope to improve upon this coming season, especially since I got canning supplies for Christmas! Thanks C, D & K πŸ™‚

At the beginning of last year I posed the question: “Are CSAs worth the investment?” Yes, I would say so. Although it’s a lot of money upfront, it’s worth it. From July to October I spent roughly 25-30% of what I normally would have at the grocery store. During November and December I spent a bit more but that was mostly due to the holidays. So far this month I’ve spent only 50% of what I averaged pre-CSA, all because of the food I have left.

Are you thinking about participating in a CSA in 2016? I hope so!

-Lyndsy

Share your thoughts

