CSA, Recipes

Two Stews and a Pie

Since we’ve moved into a bi-weekly distribution I don’t have any veggies to share this week. Honestly, I’m thankful for the break. The week off gave me a chance to work through some of the abundance that has continued to accumulate in my kitchen.

Lately my cravings have all been for comfort food and I’ve been hunting for veggie-heavy stew options. The two recipes I decided to try came out great and I’m definitely going to keep them handy for the future. Each was loosely based on an existing recipe but this represents my personal variation of those dishes.

I had also been dying to make a pumpkin pie from a sugar pumpkin, something I’d never attempted before. While I do enjoy cooking, baking is my first love. The pie was fabulous and I whipped (ha!) up some fresh whipped cream to top it off.


Roasted Root Vegetable Stew

Savory and filling, this recipe is extremely versatile and can be easily adjusted to fit your personal preferences. I was able to use up frozen tomatoes, the original recipe called for canned tomatoes, that I had stored earlier this year and that was satisfying.

wpid-20151109_135507.jpg
Roasted Root Vegetable Stew featured in a handmade bowl courtesy of my talented sister.

Ingredients

  • 3 – 4 pounds of root vegetables such as parsnips, rutabagas, carrots, potatoes, golden beets, turnips, and celery root, peeled and cut into chunks – I used parsnips, carrots, and potatoes
  • 1 head of garlic, cloves separated and peeled
  • 6 tablespoons of olive oil, divided
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 cup chopped onions, leeks, or similar; more if desired
  • 1 heaping tablespoon tomato paste
  • 28 ounces of whole (or chunked) peeled tomatoes – I used red and yellow tomatoes that I had frozen earlier in the season and (surprise, surprise) I didn’t measure them
  • 2+ cups (packed) of chopped leafy greens such as kale or chard – I used kale and I wish I had used more than two cups
  • 1 teaspoon Italian seasoning (basil, oregano, rosemary and thyme)
  • Black pepper to taste

Instructions

  1. Preheat over to 450°F. Add root vegetables to a large roasting pan with garlic, 3 tablespoons olive oil, salt and pepper. Roast for 45 minutes, turning vegetables halfway through cooking.
  2. Meanwhile, heat the remaining 3 tablespoons of olive oil over medium heat in a large pot or Dutch oven. When the oil is hot add the onions/leeks and sauté until the edges begin to brown. I used four leeks which came to a little more than 1 cup. If using onions you may want to go with closer to 1/2 cup unless you’re an onion fan. Add the tomato paste and cook a minute longer.
  3. If whole, tear tomatoes into large chunks as you add them to the pot including any remaining liquid from the can/thawed frozen tomatoes. Stir well. Add the Italian seasoning. Bring to a simmer then lower heat. Cover the pot and let cook gently while the root vegetables are roasting.
  4. When the root vegetables are ready, remove from oven. Add chopped leafy greens to the pot of tomatoes. Simmer until the greens are wilted, about 5 minutes. Sit in the root vegetables. Season with salt and pepper to taste and maybe a little hot sauce if you’re looking for a little extra heat.

Gingery Chicken Stew

Like any good Asian-inspired dish you’ll find that this stew is sweet yet spicy and it will warm you up from the inside – plus, it’s great over rice. Aside from the ginger, my favorite thing about this recipe is that it features winter squash!

Gingery Chicken Stew with Winter Squash
Gingery Chicken Stew with Winter Squash

Ingredients

  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 1.5 pounds (4 whole bone-in) chicken thighs
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon black pepper
  • 1 large onion, chopped – I used more!
  • 2 cups chopped radish – I used the beautiful purple winter radish from the winter storage box 🙂
  • 1/4 cup minced ginger
  • 2 cups vegetable or chicken stock, or water
  • 1/4 cup soy sauce
  • 2 tablespoons lime juice
  • 1 teaspoon Chinese five spice
  • 1.5 pounds any winter squash, cut into 1-inch chunks

Instructions

  1. Put the oil in a large pot over medium-high heat. When it’s hot, add the chicken, sprinkle with salt and pepper, and brown both sides; roughly 8 to 10 minutes. Remove the chicken from the pot.
  2. Add the onions (I used two onions), radish and ginger to the pot and cook 3 to 5 minutes, until beginning to soften. Add the stock, soy sauce, lime juice and Chinese five spice. Bring to boil, stirring to scrape up any brown bits from the bottom of the pot. Return the chicken and adjust heat so the mixture bubbles gently.
  3. Cook the chicken, covered, until very tender, about 30 minutes.
  4. Stir in winter squash, I used Delicata. Simmer, stirring occasionally. Add stock, if necessary, to keep it from sticking. Cook until squash is tender 15-20 minutes.
  5. If desired, remove the thighs, cut meat from bones and return to pot.

Pumpkin Pie with Homemade Whipped Cream

Add this delicious pie filling to your favorite homemade pie crust; obviously, store-bought  crust works too if you’re feeling lazy.

From-scratch pumpkin pie.
From-scratch pumpkin pie.

Ingredients

  • 2 cups mashed/pureed, roasted pumpkin. Note: I roasted my pumpkin a few days before I used it and the cold pumpkin was not mashing well. I added the pumpkin to a blender with the evaporated milk and pureed.
  • 1 (12 oz.) can evaporated milk
  • 2 eggs, beaten
  • 3/4 cups packed brown sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground ginger
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground nutmeg
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt

Instructions

  1. Preheat oven to 400°F.
  2. Prepare pie crust and ease into pie plate
  3. In large bowl, combine pumpkin, evaporated milk, eggs, brown sugar, cinnamon, ginger, nutmeg and salt.
  4. Pour into uncooked pie crust.
  5. Bake 40 minutes or until a knife inserted into the pie comes out clean.
  6. Top with homemade whipped cream and enjoy!

For Whipped Cream:

Ingredients

  • 1 pint heavy cream (any size will do)
  • Vanilla extract – to taste
  • White sugar – to taste, if desired

Instructions

  1. Set up a whisk attachment on an electric mixer.
  2. Add the cream and set to the highest setting possible without the liquid splashing out of the bowl.
  3. Add roughly 1 teaspoon of vanilla per pint. I never measure and likely use more than 1 tsp of vanilla since I like the flavor.
  4. Add white sugar to taste, if desired. I would estimate that I used 1-2 tsp.
  5. Continue to whisk the mixture on high until stiff peaks form.

Well, I hope you get a chance to try out one of these yummy stews. If you do, let me know how it comes out!

I’ve got two more pumpkins to use; one will become a Thanksgiving pie. What should I do with the other? I’m leaning towards a dessert of some sort. Do you have any favorite pumpkin recipes?

-Lyndsy

2 thoughts on “Two Stews and a Pie”

Share your thoughts

