CSA

CSA 2015: Winter Squash and Potatoes

This week was my final share from Farm B. I’m rather melancholy about the end of the season. How did five months go by so quickly? Luckily I have three distributions left with Farm A to look forward to so I’m not in full on panic mode. Plus, as I mentioned last week, I do have one final opportunity to snag some goodies from this farm with the winter storage share that they’re offering. I’m still on the fence but I’m leaning towards getting one.

If you’re interested you can check out all Farm B shares here.

Lettuce mix, Arugula, Onions, Fingerling Potatoes, Beets, Leeks, Butternut Squash
Lettuce mix, Arugula, Onions, Fingerling Potatoes, Beets, Leeks, Butternut Squash

As predicted, I got another squash and I’m stoked! This time around it was a beautiful 3lb butternut which will likely become either a soup or a stew. And I got potatoes! These little bitty fingerling potatoes are THE best. Overall I do think there were not enough potatoes this season. Perhaps the crop was bad, I haven’t asked. Maybe I just like potatoes more than the average person? Didn’t everyone grow up eating potatoes with 80% of their meals? Potatoes are the perfect comfort food and they’ve extremely versatile. I could have used more potatoes. Another thing I’ve found strange about both shares is the onion situation. This farm’s shares included onions several times but they’re tiny! I think there were two weeks that we got medium onions but mostly they were a smaller variety than I’m used to. And Farm A’s shares included no onions. Not one! We had leeks a few times and scallions at the very beginning of the season. Colorado, you need to step up your onion and potato game.

One last note, the lettuce mix on the left is actually from Farm A. This was supposed to be our first week without a share since switching to bi-weekly distributions but we got an email from the farm saying they had an abundance of lettuce, carrots and turnips. A few of my co-workers and I stopped by on our lunch break to snag some produce. I decided to only get lettuce since I still have both carrots and turnips left from previous weeks.

That’s all I’ve got in me this morning. Have a great week, enjoy fall before it’s gone!

-Lyndsy

4 thoughts on “CSA 2015: Winter Squash and Potatoes”

Share your thoughts

