CSA

CSA 2015: Catching Up (Again)

Hi there! It’s been quite some time since my last post. If you know me, I doubt you’re surprised. I love starting new things but I get bored quickly. Adding an insanely busy summer into the mix just added to my blogging procrastination. But, I’m back and I’m going to try my best to post weekly.

Before we get to the veggies I’d love to share a few general updates. My 2015 wedding season is officially over! I had a blast spending time with my two friends who were lovely enough to include me in their bridal parties but I must say that I’m thrilled to finally have time to myself to look forward to. As an introvert I need some serious alone time to recharge my batteries. I’m still doing a work-share with my yoga studio but I’ve been thinking about dropping my membership for a bit because I just haven’t had much time to get to class over the last two weeks. Why you might ask? Well, I got a second, part-time, job. I’m going to see how this week goes before officially giving that up. Maybe I just needed to acclimate to having two jobs and I’ll get my yoga motivation back this week? We’ll see.

After the New York trip I spent about a week trying to get back into my routine. Do you ever feel like you need a vacation to recover from your vacation? It was one of those weeks, I wasn’t feeling the whole ‘business-as-usual’ thing. While in NY two friends and I decided to start a book club with virtual discussions since we’re so far away from one another. So far we’ve read one book and started a second but due to scheduling conflicts and time-zone differences we have yet to discuss the first book! In case you’re curious, we read “I Am Malala: The Girl Who Stood Up for Education and Was Shot by the Taliban.” Upon our return to Boulder, Brian and I spent a good amount of time outside enjoying the end of summer. I ate lots of veggies. We went to a Oktoberfest celebration with some friends. In mid-September we headed to Atlanta for the second wedding that I was in, my third nuptial ceremony this year. We returned to Colorado to find that fall had started to arrive so we were sure to spend some time up in the mountains, have you had the chance to see the aspens in the fall? We even got one last (maybe not?!) camping trip in after spending the morning braving the lines at the REI member sale at which I scored a 45L pack in perfect condition for $35.00! Seriously, $35.00. A friend of a friend (who I liked very much and would love to spend more time with. Meg, let’s make that happen.) found the same pack but for some reason hers was marked $60+ so I asked an employee if she could have her pack at my price since neither was damaged in any way; they happily obliged and we were both smitten with our purchases. And that brings you up to speed, in the event that you were curious. You can see some pictures of said events if you follow me on Instagram, I’m only going to be sharing veggie pics in this post.

And now for the main event, the last eight weeks of my life in vegetables.

Farm A – Week 12

Parsley, Tomatoes, Swiss Chard, more Tomatoes, Beets, assorted Peppers, Zucchini, Eggplant
Parsley, Tomatoes, Swiss Chard, more Tomatoes, Beets, assorted Peppers, Zucchini, Eggplant

Farm A – Week 13

Tomatoes, Arugula, Leek, Lettuce, Parsley, Carrots, assorted Peppers, Garlic, Yardlong Beans.
Tomatoes, Arugula, Leek, Lettuce, Parsley, Carrots, assorted Peppers, Garlic, Yard-long Beans.

Farm A – Week 14

Beets, Tomatoes, Bok Choy, Lettuce, assorted Peppers, Eggplant, Yardlong Beans.
Beets, Tomatoes, Bok Choy, Lettuce, assorted Peppers, Eggplant, Yard-long Beans.

Farm A – Week 15

Arugula, Nappa Cabbage, Tomatoes, Beets, Eggplant, assorted Peppers, Parsley, Green Beans.
Arugula, Nappa Cabbage, Tomatoes, Beets, Eggplant, assorted Peppers, Parsley, Green Beans.

Farm A – Week 16

No share this week, I was in Atlanta.

Farm A – Week 17

Leeks, Swiss Chard, Head Lettuce, Parsley, Braising Mix, Tomatoes, Carrots, Green Beans, Sweet Peppers, Cucumber.
Leeks, Swiss Chard, Head Lettuce, Parsley, Braising Mix, Tomatoes, Carrots, Green Beans, Sweet Peppers, Cucumber.

Farm A – Week 18

i couldn't resist making a veggie rainbow! Tomatoes, assorted Peppers, Carrots, Head Lettuce, Lettuce Mix, Parsley, Eggplant, Radishes.
I couldn’t resist making a veggie rainbow! Tomatoes, assorted Peppers, Carrots, Head Lettuce, Lettuce Mix, Parsley, Eggplant, Radishes.

Farm A – Week 19

Assorted Peppers, Green Tomatoes, Turnips, Radishes, Parsley. Not pictured: 1/2 Head Nappa Cabbage, Lettuce Mix.
Assorted Peppers, Green Tomatoes, Turnips, Radishes, Parsley. Not pictured: 1/2 Head Nappa Cabbage, Lettuce Mix.

We’re over 80% of the way through the season with Farm A, there are four distributions remaining. After this week’s share we will be switching to bi-weekly distributions and my last share will come the Monday before Thanksgiving. This schedule extends a lot later than I’ve seen through other CSAs in the area and it is one of the main reasons I chose this farm. I’m so excited that I’ll be guaranteed farm fresh veggies at my Thanksgiving dinner! Also, I can’t wait for winter squash and I’m hoping that is ready sooner rather than later.

Farm B – Week 8

Green Beans, Kale, Summer Squash, Onions, Broccoli.
Green Beans, Kale, Summer Squash, Onions, Broccoli, plus….
…an entire Edamame plant.

Farm B – Week 9

Eggplant, Cantaloupe, Cherry Tomatoes, Onions, Tomatoes, Summer Squash, Carrots.
Eggplant, Cantaloupe, Cherry Tomatoes, Onions, Tomatoes, Summer Squash, Carrots.

Farm B – Week 10

Carrots, Tomatoes, Braising Mix, Beets, Basil, Roasted Peppers, Sunchokes.
Carrots, Tomatoes, Braising Mix, Beets, Basil, Roasted Chilies, Jerusalem Artichokes.

Farm B – Week 11

Kale, Onions, Garlic, Tomatoes, Turnips, assorted Peppers.
Kale, Onions, Garlic, Tomatoes, Turnips, assorted Peppers.

I’m nearly finished with Farm B, there is only one more bi-weekly distribution scheduled for the second to last week of October. At the beginning of the season I had the option to sign up for an ‘A-Week’ or ‘B-Week’ schedule and I made sure to choose the one whose last share fell on the first week off from Farm A. This way I will get at least one share each week of October. I haven’t had a chance to ask either farm but I have a feeling that potatoes didn’t do so well with all the rain at the beginning of the season, I haven’t seen potatoes in either share since mid-August. Winter squash should be ready soon so I’m hoping my last share with Farm B will include that.

The piece that I’ve found the most challenging with sharing my CSAs with you is remembering to document what I make. When I’m cooking I really have no desire to make things look pretty and take pictures of them. It’s hard enough getting a good picture of each share, it takes forever. And some people are not always patient with you when you spend over 20 minutes rearranging vegetables and half listening to said people who may have driven in rush-hour traffic to come hang out with you – sorry, Danielle.

I’ve also spent a good amount of time over the last month and a half prepping and freezing produce. I haven’t ventured into canning yet because I don’t have enough jars or the necessary equipment. However, I do need to get on my canning game for future years and potentially even this season because I have little room left in my freezer. I actually don’t know how we’re going to make room for the next chicken share now that I’m thinking about it. Too much food isn’t a bad problem to have, I’ll figure it out.

That’s all I’ve got for now!

-Lyndsy

Share your thoughts

