CSA

CSA 2015: Attention, Tomatoes Are Here!

Farm A – Week 11

Jalapeno, Leeks, Basil, Beets (x2), Rainbow Chard, Tomatoes, Garlic, Eggplant

While I was in New York I missed week 10 with Farm A which was the first week we got tomatoes. I was envious when my CSA buddy sent me pictures of our share, I’ve been craving tomatoes since mid-July. The following week we got tomatoes again, yay! Aside from my tomato excitement, I traded my turnips with another coworker so I could have more beets. Because she doesn’t like beets (she’s crazy) but it works out in my favor.Β  In other exciting news, we’re also starting to get peppers! Summer is great, albeit a little late this year.

After spending ten days away it’s been hard settling back into my schedule and I haven’t been cooking as much as I should be. I’m still playing catch up on blogging as well; these veggies were actually from last Thursday. Some of these tomatoes were immediately whipped up into an easy sauce as soon as I took these pictures. I used the sauce as a dip to accompany kohlrabi fritters. The squash and eggplant were combined with tomato, garlic, provolone and some of the pepper for a quick Veggie Tian. I’m not fancy. I Googled what I should call my made up dish, apparently it’s a real thing and now I’m sad that I didn’t think to add potatoes. Later in the week I used more of the sauce to make a veggie pizza with leeks, squash, and basil – I bought the dough because I was being lazy. I had some summer squash and provolone left over so I added the rest of the pepper and some onion made a squash casserole type thing to eat during the work week.

Farm B – Week 7

Summer Squash, Arugula, Kohlrabi, Onions, Carrots, Garlic, Beets

The arugula, carrots, beets, and onions went into salads along with some kale that I got from the Edible Landscape Demonstration Garden at the Boulder library which is sponsored by 350Colorado, a climate change-centric group that I volunteer with. I’ve been involved with 350Colorado for a few months now and I’m really enjoying it. This is an offshoot of 350.org which is a global organization focused on building a grassroots climate movement. Next weekend I’ll be heading to southern Colorado to attend a weekend convergence where I’ll be collaborating with folks from across the state to work towards building our local climate movement. Plus there’s a rafting trip the last day, winning!

I got more beets from Farm B; I’m a bit overwhelmed with beets at the moment but root veggies store well so it’s not a ‘problem’. I’m so happy that we’re moving into heartier veggies which I can store a bit longer. I’ve amassed a great deal of onions in the last two weeks as well because I brought a bunch (and a half) back with me from New York. Again, this obviously isn’t an issue because onions store well. I do wish I had a root cellar, I will one day.

What should I do with these beets? I’m considering making another borscht but using a different recipe. I found this recipe after making my first batch of borscht and it looks amazing. Is that boring? Also, I have more kohlrabi and I don’t know what to make. The fritters were good but I don’t think I want to do that again. Does anyone know of a good kohlrabi recipe? I feel like those will last awhile as well so I’m not extremely concerned with using those up immediately.

Well, thanks for reading! Now I’m off to brainstorm for my NY/Wedding post – Cynthiaaaaaaaaaaa, where are my pictures?!?!

-Lyndsy

2 thoughts on “CSA 2015: Attention, Tomatoes Are Here!”

  1. Beet. Burgers! They are one of my favorite things to do with beets, and I usually add quinoa and/or red lentils. Wrap it in lettuce with some dijon mustard – YUM. Buns are amazing as well, but rarely do I have those. Idea 2 – cut up beets and roast in the oven, then add goat cheese and dill – easy!

    Like

Share your thoughts

