CSA

CSA 2015: End of July

Farm A – Week 9

Beets, Tri-Colored Beans, Head Lettuce, Potatoes, Eggplant, Basil

If you follow me on Instagram you may have kept up with my life in the past three weeks, sorry for the second lengthy absence on here. At the end of July I traveled to New York for a dear friend’s wedding, which I will discuss in more detail in a later post.

I picked up both of these shares the day before I left; remember my concern about flying with produce? Turns out, it’s perfectly acceptable in both carry-on and checked luggage. Although I did encounter a few condescending and concerned customer service agents in my quest to determine the legality of this venture. I’m fairly certain they thought I was insane. Obviously you should use common sense while packing. Don’t expect your tomatoes to be in one piece if they travel under the plane. I packed potatoes, beets, carrots, and turnips in my checked bags and they were in perfect condition when I landed. In my carry-on I packed the beans, squash, eggplant and leeks. I gave away the basil and the lettuce before I left.

Farm B – Week 6

Summer Squash/Zucchini, Beets, Leeks, Carrots, Tri-Colored Beans, Potatoes

I was thrilled to be able to share my produce with my family, not that they’re lacking produce. Aside from these pictures, I don’t have much more to share. Barely any picture-taking happened on my trip and the veggies went into various dishes or, in the case of the beets, were just boiled and enjoyed as is. One Sunday was spent at a local brewery with a family picnic, overlooking the black dirt region of Orange County – the real one, not the California one.

That’s all I’ve got for now, I’m just trying to play catch up at this point. There will be much more to come when I share details of my trip and the wedding. First I have to twist Cynthia’s arm until she either sends along or uploads the pictures she took!

-Lyndsy

Share your thoughts

