CSA

CSA 2015: Root Veggies & Squash

Farm A – Week 7

Beets, Summer Squash, Cilantro, Arugula, Rainbow Chard, Potatoes, Garlic & Basil

Things have finally started to become a bit more colorful in my shares this week which, to me, signifies that summer if officially here. Oh the joys of summer; beets, zucchini, peppers, carrots,beets,Β  potatoes, cucumbers, tomatoes, beets. I feel as though I’ve expressed this before so I’m sorry for being repetitive BUT, I love beets. LOVE THEM. A lot. When I expressed my enthusiasm to my fellow CSA participants at work I was met with eye rolling and “I think you’ve had too much sun.” What does that even mean? And *shocker* I obviously don’t agree. Because a. I have not had enough sun, I’m stuck inside at a desk all day and b. I just get excited about vegetables. Why can’t they just be on my level with this!?!

We’re one-third of the way through this season and aside from the fact that no one seems to share my level of excitement, my coworkers truly are enjoying their shares. The experience they had last year was less than desirable and I’m so pleased that everyone has enjoyed their produce thus far. Especially since I chose the farm and I want everyone to be happy with what they’re getting. Thursday’s have become our favorite day of the week; I love sharing recipe ideas with everyone while we’re collecting our veggies. And while they’re not quite on the same level… they’re always excited too.

Farm B – Week 5

Curly Green Kale, Leeks, Potatoes, Garlic, Carrots, Beets & Summer Squash/Zucchini

As you can see, I received a plethora of goodies this week. I’m starting to formulate a plan for what I’ll be making with these gems and here’s what I’ve come up with so far. I’ve been dying to make a Borscht (beet soup) and I finally have enough beets to get things in motion, that’s the plan for tonight. My grandma said she has a great potato leek soup recipe and if she ever sends it to me (Baba, if you’re reading this, why haven’t you sent it yet?!?) I’ll whip that up too. Maybe I can toss some of the kale in there as well? Hmm. Some potatoes will likely be paired with the carrots when I make the whole chicken later this month. Who knows what I’ll do with the chard – I’m getting pretty bored with chard. Any suggestions? The kale and arugula will likely become simple salads. I don’t like chard in salads, gross. As far as the squash goes I’ll likely just grill or bake them. They’re the first batch of the season and I’m a firm believer that summer squash (especially zucchini) is best drizzled in olive oil, and sprinkled with salt and pepper. You don’t need to get fancy with it. The herbs will be used in whatever I can toss them into. What do you put cilantro in aside from salsa?

Well, that’s all I’ve got for now. Tonight we’re heading up to Rocky Mountain National Park to star-gaze, hopefully I can get some good pictures to share! I hope your weekend is filled with lots of sunshine and happiness, thanks for reading πŸ™‚

-Lyndsy

P.S. The pickled turnips were a huge success. And they did not last long. I cheated by adding the turnip pieces to a brine mixture from a jar of pickles I had just finished, all I added was dill. They were the perfect texture and had a lovely peppery finish which resembled a radish. I highly recommend making some if you get the chance.

1 thought on “CSA 2015: Root Veggies & Squash”

Share your thoughts

