CSA

CSA 2015: Dill… Pickles?

Farm A – Week 6

Arugula, Rainbow Chard, Turnips, Dill, Fava Beans and Scallions
Arugula, Rainbow Chard, Turnips, Dill, Fava Beans and Scallions

The stars have aligned, my wish has come true – more fava beans this week! I’m not sure what I want to do with them this time around. I’d like to create something that features them a bit more.

Dill automatically makes me think of pickles, which is probably shortsighted. But I love pickles. And dilly turnip pickles sound intriguing. I sauteed the last round of turnips in their greens and I wasn’t a huge fan. Why are turnips so watery? Unfortunately I don’t have enough for a delicious gratin. So, I will be trying something new. Dilly turnip pickles it is!

There are a few handfuls of green beans left in the fridge that I think will work well with the scallions in a stir fry. The chard might go in a quiche with some onions from last week, that sounds easy. And, of course, there will be many salads in my next few days; I still have a bit of lettuce and red Russian kale from last week to mix in with the Arugula.

-Lyndsy

1 thought on “CSA 2015: Dill… Pickles?”

Share your thoughts

