CSA

CSA 2015: Fava Beans

It’s the first week of July and the bounty is starting to flood in. One of my favorite things about participating in a CSA is that I’m forced to use vegetables that I have not used in the past and would likely not buy otherwise. This week it was fava beans and I got them with each share.

Farm A – Week 5

Rainbow Chard, Head Lettuce, Turnips, Beets, Cilantro, Basil, Fava Beans, and Sugar Snap Peas

After trolling through Pinterest for an hour looking for a good recipe falling down the rabbit hole, I decided to wing it. Big surprise there. A bit of inspiration did happen but my main concern was prepping the beans. I had heard that fava beans can be labor intensive and I wanted a shortcut. Through my research I learned of several easy ways to shell the beans and that it’s not actually necessary to peel the thin translucent skin. Apparently Americans and the French are the only weirdos who shell the beans. But I didn’t listen and ended up peeling them. Mostly because I wanted to split the beans in half to make them go a little further in the salad. It was a bit laborious but I watched The Office and drank a minty tequila mojito concoction while shucking; I wasn’t bothered by the task.

Fava Bean, Snap Pea, and Quinoa Salad
Fava Bean, Snap Pea, and Quinoa Salad

In general, grains intimidate me. Hopefully this year will be the year of grains and I will get me more comfortable cooking with them. My friend Meg’s prowess in the realm of grains is envious, luckily she’s a patient and willing teacher. When I say I’m intimidated what I really mean is barely capable. I have yet to even succeed at rice. How is this even possible?! Is rice harder than most things? Luckily BC (the boyfriend) is Pureto Rican and capable so I still get perfectly cooked rice whenever my heart desires. Back to the quinoa. I’ve had this rainbow quinoa sitting in my cabinet for far too long, last night I took the initiative and cooked it up to make an easy summer salad.

I added the grains to a pot with water, brought it to a boil, lowered heat and simmered for 15 minutes. IT WAS THAT EASY. Immediately I began to question why I had never cooked with quinoa before. There will be a copious amount of quinoa in my future. From my CSA shares I chopped up one bag of snap peas and  several onions then I added the shelled fava beans to the mix. Non-CSA additions included a few tomatoes, a handful of olives, a splash of olive juice, and feta cheese. The cheese has been added separately to each serving as I don’t want the dish to get watery if it sits in the fridge for a few days, which it will because there is quite a bit of it. I dressed the salad with salt, pepper, lemon zest and fresh lemon juice. This dish was so easy and beyond satisfying.

Farm B – Week 4

Red Russian Kale, Garlic, Tuscan Kale, Sugar Snap Peas, Fava Beans, and Onions

As far as the rest of the veggies go: salads with the Russian kale, lettuce, onions, peas and beets; either kale chips or a hearty salad (+ garlic) with the Tuscan kale; the peas would also work well in a stir fry, hmm; sauteed turnips and turnips greens (+ garlic); and garlicky chard and potatoes. The beets have been roasted and are ready to chop up as needed. Mmmmm beets 🙂

Finding time to prep and cook has to happen, I’m starting to get into the swing of things. Finding time to blog about my weekly shares is going to be (and has been) my biggest challenge. I’ve had a busy summer already and it’s not going to slow down anytime soon. With two out-of-state weddings, work, volunteering, trying to enjoy my beautiful state, and having an opposite schedules from BC I feel like there’s never enough time in the week – or money in the bank, amiright? Oh, and my bestie just moved to town. It’s fine, I’ll just sleep when I’m dead.

Overall, big win on the fava bean front and I’m hoping to get some more in the next few weeks. And even though it’s already past my bedtime I think I’m going to go tackle those turnips, they’ll be quicker than the potatoes.

-Lyndsy

2 thoughts on “CSA 2015: Fava Beans”

Share your thoughts

