CSA

CSA 2015: Playing Catch Up

Farm A – Week 2

Salad Mix, Sugar Snap Peas, Garlic Scapes, Beets
Salad Mix, Sugar Snap Peas, Garlic Scapes, Baby Beets

It’s surprising that so many peas made it home for that picture. These were the first sugar peas of the season and I ate nearly half of them before leaving work. I’m fairly positive that Esther (my Farm A share buddy) didn’t have any left by the time she got home! They’re so darn juicy and refreshing.

Sauté bacon, add beet greens and sauté until greens are wilted.
Sauté bacon, add beet greens and sauté until greens are wilted.

The beginning of June was just a rainy as May. However, I feel like this was a good haul for an early season half share. Those beets were BANGING. Have I mentioned that I love beets? Root vegetables in general tickle my fancy but beets take the cake. I roasted this bunch with the intention of using them on salads. That didn’t happen. I ate them straight off the pan while they were still hot. I can not wait for fully grown beets! I used the beet greens as well. My favor way to prepare beet greens is sauteed in bacon. Because everything is better with bacon, obviously.

Garlic scape and pepper scramble with baked turnips.
Garlic scape and pepper scramble with baked turnips.

As for the garlic scapes, I’ve found they’re perfect with eggs. I used these in several egg scrambles over the course of the week. Pictured is a scramble with garlic scapes and peppers with a side of (reheated) baked turnips. This is my first experience with garlic scapes – and they’ve been plentiful – so I need to learn other ways of preparing them. I’ve heard of some folks pickling them, do you have any suggestions or favorite recipes?

Rain be dammed, week two was still a success. Not that I shared the doubts of my coworkers. I don’t know if I’ve mentioned this but they had a bad experience last year with the CSA they chose. Since I picked this year’s CSA I do fell a slight pressure to make everyone happy BUT our farmers are doing a fantastic job even with these weather obstacles. Which, I suppose, is part of running a farm and a CSA program.

Farm A & B – Week 3

During June 18 – 21 I was out of town at a festival and I passed along my shares to friends. Thanks to my lovely coworker I do have pictures of the Farm A share. She got fancy and took photos of things individually; I’ve shared her pictures below. Farm A is the share I split so imagine half of all of these veggies if you’re wondering what I would have gotten exactly. Unfortunately I don’t have pictures of the Farm B share but here’s what was included: Turnips, Collards, Garlic Scapes, Braising Greens, Onions, Sage and Thyme!

Salad mix, Swiss chard, Baby beets, Radishes, Sugar snap peas, and Garlic scapes.
Salad mix, Swiss chard, Baby beets, Radishes, Sugar snap peas, and Garlic scapes.

Farm A - Week 3

  My summer is jam packed with events and travel, and this will not be the only time that I have to give away at least one of my shares. However, I will should be around for the rest of the double share weeks and I will try my best to get pictures of the shares I do miss.

Farm A – Week 4

Head Lettuce, Sugar Snap Peas, Mint, Swiss Chard, Garlic Scapes
Head Lettuce, Sugar Snap Peas, Mint, Swiss Chard, Garlic Scapes

Peas, peas and more peas! The Farm A crew spent 30 hours harvesting peas the last week of June and they took a break from the root vegetables to give them a chance to grow a bit more. Towards the middle of the month the weather decided to cooperate; the sun came out, the clouds disappeared, and the creeks started to fall to their normal levels. Weather wise we’re pretty much back to normal at this point – aside from the humidity. Coming from New England I never thought I would consider 40% humidity too humid…. clearly Colorado has spoiled me because I’m uncomfortable in anything over 30%.

Sausage, Chard, Garlic Scapes and Brie
Sausage, Chard, Garlic Scapes and Brie

I’m not a big chard fan but this is something I’m hoping to change. There’s one tried and true chard recipe that I adore and will likely share with you later this season. This time around I wanted to try something new – plus I didn’t have all the ingredients to make the tried and true recipe. I made a “use-what’s-left-in-the-fridge” frittata and it was/is delicious! I used the chard and garlic scapes from this share, eggs and sausage from my meat CSA (separate post to come!) and brie that I had left in the fridge. I’m actually snacking on a slice of it right now, yum 🙂

Thanks for sticking with me while I try to keep myself motivated to post each week. I’m so happy that I can back date posts – that way I can pretend I’m less lazy than I actually am!

 

-Lyndsy

2 thoughts on “CSA 2015: Playing Catch Up”

  1. I want to come to your house for dinner!

    Yours in Kiwanis Service,

    David Morse

    cell: 845-772-2953

    “LEADERSHIP IS ACTION, NOT A POSITION”

    Like

Share your thoughts

