CSA, Recipes

Recipe: Turnip Gratin

This was my first time cooking with turnips and I’m so happy with my recipe choice. All hail Pinterest!

I was inspired by this post. The recipe called for a healthy amount of Gruyère cheese and I’m a firm believer in cheese making everything better, I was sold. As I read through the recipe the basic concept reminded me of the way my mom makes scalloped potatoes. I had all of the ingredients to go that route so I jumped in and made it a combo of the two.

Disclaimer: I am REALLY bad at following recipes. I like to make it up as I go along and I rarely measure – excluding baking. I mostly measure when I bake.

Turnip Gratin aka Yummy Goodness
Turnip Gratin aka Yummy Goodness

All measurements are approximated, because I can’t be bothered with actually keeping track.

Turnip Gratin:

  • 5 Hakurei Turnips
  • 1-2 tbsp Butter
  • 1-2 tbsp Flour
  • 1-2 tbsp Milk
  • 2 cups Gruyère Cheese
  • Salt and Pepper to taste

To assemble this beauty I layered turnips in a casserole dish, sprinkled with salt and pepper, added a few dabs of butter, splashed with milk, and then I topped that with a healthy layer of cheese. I repeated this two or three times, covered the top most layer of turnips in only cheese, salt, and pepper, and popped it into the oven at 375° for 25-30 minutes… I think. It was definitely 375°, I’m not sure how long it was in for. I did remember to take pictures!

wpid-wp-1433644604342.jpeg
Layer turnips, sprinkle with salt and pepper, add a few dabs of butter.
wpid-wp-1433644678343.jpeg
Cover with a healthy layer of cheese!

I have one regret… I forgot garlic. How did I forget the garlic?!? Poor life decision. I will also find a cheese that melts better. This had a great flavor, it was sharp, but it didn’t melt as well as I had hoped. And on my next round of turnip gratin I will likely leave out the milk. The turnips are very watery compared to potatoes.

So, that’s that. Does anyone else have a good turnip recipe that I should try out? I just got another batch on Thursday and haven’t decided what to do with them yet.

Happy weekend 🙂

-Lyndsy

Save

1 thought on “Recipe: Turnip Gratin”

Share your thoughts

