CSA

CSA 2015: Greens Galore

Farm A – Week 1

Lettuce, Braising Mix, Radishes, Baby Carrots, Sage, Basil Plant
Lettuce, Braising Mix, Radishes, Baby Carrots, Sage, Basil Plant

For Farm A I am splitting a full share with a coworker and this is my half of the first share. The full share had twice the amount of lettuce, braising mix, radishes, carrots and sage, and my coworker took home a tomato plant. Obviously we plan on sharing the tomatoes and basil once they start producing! As you can see, I couldn’t control myself and I ate two of the carrots before remembering that I wanted to get pictures of each share… oops! But yum.

The farmers at this farm were worried that they would have to push back our shares a week but they were able to provide some veggies for us to take home. Albeit mostly greens. But hey, early season usually equals leafy greens overload! All of the rainy, chilly weather in May has caused stunted growth on a LOT of produce across the state.

This week, on the other hand, has been beautiful! Well, until last night. A tornado touched down in north Boulder County and there was hail larger than golf balls. Check it out here. Scary shit. And now it’s basically a monsoon outside which is hindering my camping plans. The other side of the continental divide needs this rain a heck of a lot more than we do and our clay-heavy soil is not compatible with this much moisture. I really hope it starts to dry out soon.

Farm B – Week 2

Arugula, Pea Shoots, Mint, Hakurei Turnips, Bok Choy, Scallions
Arugula, Pea Shoots, Mint, Hakurei Turnips, Bok Choy, Scallions

One thing I love about Farm B is that they give you options each week. This week I had a choice between Green Garlic or Scallions, Arugula or Lettuce, and Kale, Bok Choy or Mustard Greens. Each week we also have a choice of herbs. This past pick up I also noticed a swap basket but I haven’t used it for anything yet.

I picked up my share from Farm A first and I think that will continue to serve me well throughout the season since I’m able to pick and choose with this share and I can avoid having too much of one thing.

That arugula is going to make some banging pesto. Seriously, it’s the only thing I’ve been thinking about all morning.

Now, what do I do with these Pea Shoots? I’ve never used them before and I’m not sure what to do with them aside from eating them raw. I’m thinking they may be good in a Pad Thai type stir fry with the Bok Choy and Scallions as a sub for sprouts. They taste more strongly of peas than I would have assumed, which was a nice surprise. Any suggestions on what to do with these?

Stay tuned for a post about the delicious Turnip Gratin that I made last week!

-Lyndsy

2 thoughts on “CSA 2015: Greens Galore”

Share your thoughts

